Home > Windows Server 2012 R2 > Windows Server 2012 R2 preview

Windows Server 2012 R2 preview

Ok if you had not heard there is a preview of Windows Server 2012 R2 that is available for download. http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/server-cloud/windows-server/windows-server-2012-r2.aspx

a quick post on my experience installing the preview.

After downloading the ISO image, and getting my product key, I created a new VM on my Windows 8 Pro machine. the installation took about 10 minutes. This is just how to install a small 2012 R2 server to check it out the new features available. Some features like anything new with Hyper-V would need to be run on a real machine not a Virtual Machine.

Do not forget to enable windows update, as there are already 5 updates that are available for this preview build.

After booting the VM to the ISO, the installation was very snappy. I selected my Settings.

001SelectLanguage

I still think this screen is pointless, but I clicked the big Install now button.
002_InstallNow

I entered my product Key.

003_enterproductkey

Selected the GUI installation of Windows Server.

004_selectOSToinstall

Agreed to the License Agreement.

005_LicenseTerms

The next screen I was unable to get a capture screen but it was upgrade an existing installation or install fresh, I choose a fresh installation. Then I selected the one drive I presented the OS to install on.

007_WhatDrive

A nice screen shot of the installation in progress.

008_installingWindows

Last thing to do was to set the administrative password and it was time to reboot.

009_SetAdminPassword

Do not forget to enable windows update, as there are already 5 updates that are available for this preview build.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

